in arcadia

it was almost the fourth

of July so I made a little

cross out of balsa wood

with a birthday candle

where it split at the top

when I went to light it

it turned into a Reaper

drone and flew out into

the green depopulated

countryside of my heart

 

my heart has six chambers

it crawls like a mollusk

I’m walking the streets

concealing my heart

under a Stonewall t-shirt

screaming You won’t do it

and singing Happy birthday

so sweetly and under my breath


Zack Anderson

Zack Anderson is an MFA candidate at the University of Notre Dame.

Leave a Reply

